County History

Somerset County is located in the southwestern portion of Pennsylvania known as the Laurel Highlands. Most of Somerset County is a high plateau or tableland, located between the crests of the Allegheny Mountains on the east, and Laurel Hill on the west. Elevations range from 1,040 feet in Southampton Township, to the 3,213 feet of Mount Davis, Pennsylvania’s highest point. The county’s land area of 1,085 square miles (seventh largest in the state), lies almost entirely in the Ohio River drainage area.

The written history of Somerset County dates back to the French and Indian War. Then in 1769, Somerset County began to attract settlers. On April 17, 1795, Brothersvalley, Turkeyfoot, Quemahoning, Milford, Elk Lick and Stonycreek Townships evolved into Somerset County from Bedford County. The new county had 1,250 residents. Somerset County has continued to grow throughout time. Today it is composed of twenty-five townships and twenty-five boroughs. In 1990, the County’s population was 78,218. Somerset County boasts two State Parks, several State Forest areas, two major ski and convention centers. Today, tourism, manufacturing, coal mining, and agriculture are the major economic forces in Somerset County.

County Annex Office Building
300 North Center Avenue
Somerset, PA 15501
Somerset County Courthouse
111 East Union St.
Somerset, PA 15501